HUDU

The American Constitution and Its Provenance

Jetzt
€ 46,99
Bisher € 49,61
 
kartoniert
Besorgung - Lieferbarkeit unbestimmt
Juli 1997

Beschreibung

Beschreibung

In this comprehensive collection of essays representing a lifetime of scholarship, distinguished political scientist Richard Stevens examines the fundamental principles of the American Constitutional order. Stevens discusses the Constitution's roots in Renaissance and Enlightenment political philosophy, and evaluates several major twentieth-century constitutional commentators. With a focus on the core of constitutional principle, Stevens critiques such views as that the Constitution founds a mixed regime, or is rooted in Christianity, or is a 'living constitution, ' or is to be interpreted in the light of a 'higher law background.' Broad in scope and penetrating in analysis, this book is essential reading for students and scholars of constitutional law, American political thought, and American history.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Chapter 1 Acknowledgments Chapter 2 Introduction Part 3 Part I: Aspects of Modern Political Philosophy Chapter 4 The People, the Great, and the Wise (1992) Chapter 5 Machiavelli's Burlesque of Aristotle's Ethics (1986) Chapter 6 On the Practicality of More's Utopia (1966) Chapter 7 The New Republic in More's Utopia (1969) Chapter 8 Abstraction and Practicability in the Political Philosophy of Hobbes (1989) Part 9 Part II: The American Constitution Chapter 10 The Constitutional Completion of the Liberal Philosophy of Hobbes and Locke (1987) Chapter 11 Introduction to the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution (1994) Chapter 12 George Washington and the Constitution (1982) Chapter 13 The Significance of a Written Constitution for America (1987) Chapter 14 Due Process of Law (1987) Part 15 Part III: On Constitutional Commentators Chapter 16 Felix Frankfurter (1971) Chapter 17 The Constitution and What It Meant to Corwin (1980) Chapter 18 Liberal Democracy and Justice in the Constitution of Walter Berns (1993) Chapter 19 Restoration or Illusion? A Review of George Will (1993) Chapter 20 The Old Republic and the New: A Review of paul Rahe (1994) Part 21 Part IV: Difficulties Chapter 22 Conscience and Politics (1984) Chapter 23 The Problem of the Division of Labor in Marx (1970) Chapter 24 Ethnic Diversity (1980) Chapter 25 Liberal Education (1975) Chapter 26 Notes Chapter 27 Table of Cases Chapter 28 Index

Portrait

Richard G. Stevens is a retired former professor of political science at the National Defense University. He is the author of Frankfurter and Due Process, and the co-editor, with Morton Frisch, of American Political Thought and The Political Thought of American Statesmen.

Pressestimmen

Richard Stevens' collection of essays reflects over forty years of thoughtful inquiry on the relationship between philosopy and political life. His views can, in the best sense of the term, be described as radical in their rethinking of the foundations of the American political and constitutional order. The range of his learning and the care with which he presents it should inspire young scholars to pick up on his ideas and apply them to the problems and dilemmas that they will face in the twenty-first century. -- Jerome J. Hanus, American University An occasion for celebration. -- Paul Rahe, University of Tulsa Few have written of America with such a judicious mixture of generosity, hardheadedness, and wit. Students of the Constitution and of political thought will wish to place this book on their shelves next to the collected essays of Walter Berns, Martin Diamond, and Herbert J. Storing. -- Matthew J. Franck, Radford University Following in the tradition of Martin Diamond and Herbert Storing, Stevens' collection of essays broadens and deepens our understanding of the American regime, opening our minds to its great perfections, but never mindless of its imperfections. It is truly a seminal study. -- Morton J. Frisch, Northern Illinois University
EAN: 9780847685134
ISBN: 0847685136
Untertitel: New. Sprache: Englisch.
Verlag: ROWMAN & LITTLEFIELD PUBL GROU
Erscheinungsdatum: Juli 1997
Seitenanzahl: 368 Seiten
Format: kartoniert
Es gibt zu diesem Artikel noch keine Bewertungen.Kundenbewertung schreiben