Three Plays After: The Yalta Game, the Bear, Afterplay

€ 10,99
Besorgung - Lieferbarkeit unbestimmt
Dezember 2003



This is a collection of three plays by Brian Friel, based on works of Chekhov. "The Bear: A Vaudeville"; "Afterplay" (where Sonya from "Uncle Vanya" and Andrei from "Three Sisters" meet); and "The Yalta Game" (from a theme in Chekhov's 1899 story, "The Lady with the Lapdog".


Brian Friel was born in Omagh, County Tyrone, in 1929. His plays include Philadelphia, Here I Come!, Translations, Faith Healer, Making History, Dancing at Lughnasa and The Home Place. Anton Chekhov, Russian dramatist and short-story writer, was born in 1860, the son of a grocer and the grandson of a serf. After graduating in medicine from Moscow University in 1884, he began to make his name in the theatre with the one-act comedies The Bear, The Proposal and The Wedding. His earliest full-length plays, Ivanov (1887) and The Wood Demon (1889), were not successful, and The Seagull, produced in 1896, was a failure until a triumphant revival by the Moscow Art Theatre in 1898. This was followed by Uncle Vanya (1899), Three Sisters (1901) and The Cherry Orchard (1904), shortly after the production of which Chekhov died. The first English translations of his plays were performed within five years of his death.
EAN: 9780571217618
ISBN: 0571217613
Untertitel: 'Faber Plays'. Sprache: Englisch.
Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2003
Seitenanzahl: 128 Seiten
Format: kartoniert
Es gibt zu diesem Artikel noch keine Bewertungen.Kundenbewertung schreiben