European Sacred Music

€ 20,49
Bisher € 20,99
Lieferbar innert 2 Wochen
November 1996



Over 50 of the finest examples of sacred choral music from continental Europe from the sixteenth to twentieth centuries. John Rutter has prepared completely new editions of all the pre-twentieth-century items, going back to the earliest and most reliable manuscript or printed sources. English singing translations are provided for most pieces, and playable keyboard reductions. Orchestrations are available for hire for the eight accompanied items, and some pieces are available separately in the Oxford Choral Classics Octavo series.


Miserere ;
Christus factus est ;
The Lord's Prayer ;
O Jesu Christ, meins Lebens Licht, BWV 118 ;
Ach, arme Welt, Op. 110 no.2 ;
Geistliches Lied, Op. 30 ;
Warum ist das Licht, Op. 74 no.1 ;
Ave Maria ;
Christus factus est ;
Locus iste ;
Os justi ;
Magnificat ;
O vos omnes ;
Cantique de Jean Racine ;
Panis angelicus ;
Jubilate Deo a 8 ;
O vos omnes ;
The Cherubic Hymn ;
Ave maris stella ;
Ave Virgo sanctissima ;
Pater noster ;
Dixit Maria ;
Crux fidelis ;
Ave Maria ;
Adoramus te, Christe ;
Ave verum Corpus ;
Timor et tremor ;
Crucifixus a 8 ;
Verleih uns Frieden ;
Psalm 43 (Richte mich, Gott) ;
Beatus vir ;
Cantate Domino ;
Christe, adoramus te ;
Ave verum Corpus ;
Exsultate Deo ;
Sicut cervus ;
Tu es Petrus and Quodcumque ligaveris ;
Salve Regina ;
Ave Maria ;
Abendlied, Op. 69 no. 3 ;
Unser lieben Frauen Traum ;
O salutaris Hostia ;
Psalm 23 ;
Psalm 100 ;
Selig sind die Toten ;
Ave Maria ;
Laudate Dominum ;
Hymn to the Virgin ;
Ave Maria ;
Exsultate justi ;
Ave Maria a 4 ;
Jesu, dulcis memoria ;
O quam gloriosum ;
O vos omnes


John Rutter was born in London in 1945 and studied music at Clare College, Cambridge. His compositions embrace choral, orchestral, and instrumental music, and he has edited or co-edited various choral anthologies, including four Carols for Choirs volumes with Sir David Willcocks and the Oxford Choral Classics series. From 1975 to 1979 he was Director of Music at Clare College, and in 1981 he formed his own choir, the Cambridge Singers. He now divides his time between composition and conducting and is sought after as a guest conductor for the world's leading choirs and orchestras.


There is no doubt that the European Sacred Music Choral Classics volume is one of the most important additions to the repertoire made in this century. The fame of this collection has spread so fast that it needs little comment from me, except to congatulate John Rutter on his great achievement. Here at last is an opportunity for choirs to broaden and enrich their musical and spiritual experience with the best works from the pens of Bruckner, Brahms, Lassus, Monteverdi, Palestrina, Reger, Verdi and Victoria. Russian composers are particularly well represented by works from Rachmaninov, Stravinsky, Glinka and Tchaikovsky ... This book is an absolute bargain, since it not only contains 54 anthems and motets, but also includes fascinating and erudite notes on every single piece, with sources always given. It goes without saying that every self-respecting choir should have a set of this valuable book in its library: so on with the coffee mornings and sponsored swims! CMQ, April 97
EAN: 9780193436954
ISBN: 0193436957
Untertitel: Vocal Score. 'Oxford Choral Classics Collections'. mus. exs. Sprache: Englisch.
Verlag: Oxford University Press
Erscheinungsdatum: November 1996
Seitenanzahl: 384 Seiten
Format: geheftet
Es gibt zu diesem Artikel noch keine Bewertungen.Kundenbewertung schreiben