Political Philosophers of the Twentieth Century: An Introduction

€ 57,99
Bisher € 61,22
Lieferbar innert 2 Wochen
Januar 1999



This volume provides an outstanding survey of the major political philosophers of the twentieth century.


Acknowledgements. 1. Introduction. 2. Max Weber and the Politics of the Twentieth Century. Part I: Critics of Consumerist Capitalism:. 3. Herbert Marcuse and the Frankfurt School: The Tyranny of Instrumental Reason. 4. Hannah Arendt: Classical Republicanism and the Modern World. 5. C. B. Macpherson: Possessive Individualism and Liberal Democracy. Part II: Embattled Liberalism:. 6. Michael Oakeshott: Rationalism and Civil Association. 7. Friedruch Hayek: The Theory of Spontaneous Order. 8. Karl Popper: Critical Rationalism and the Open Society. 9. Isaiah Berlin: Monism and Pluralism. Part III: Contemporaries:. 10. John Rawls: Liberal Justice. 11. Robert Nozick: The Minimal State. 12. Jurgen Habermas: Discourse Ethics and Democracy. 13. Conclusion: The End of History?. Index.


Michael H. Lessnoff is Reader in Politics at the University of Glasgow. He is the author of The Spirit of Capitalism and the Protestant Ethic (1994); Social Contract (1986); and The Structure of Social Science: A Philosophical Introduction (1974).
EAN: 9780631202615
ISBN: 0631202617
Untertitel: New. Sprache: Englisch.
Erscheinungsdatum: Januar 1999
Seitenanzahl: 312 Seiten
Format: kartoniert
Es gibt zu diesem Artikel noch keine Bewertungen.Kundenbewertung schreiben