Carols for Choirs 1

€ 17,99
Bisher € 18,49
Lieferbar innert 2 Wochen
August 1961



50 Christmas carols Orchestrations for several of the carols from this collection are available on sale or hire under the titles Three Carol Orchestrations and Five Christmas Carols. Eight Carols for Brass for 5 and 8 part brass (to accompany carols from Carols for Choirs 1 and Carols for Choirs 2) are also on sale.


A boy was born ;
A Christmas Carol ;
A great and mighty wonder ;
A merry Christmas ;
A virgin most pure ;
Adeste fideles ;
And there were shepherds ;
Angels, from the realms of glory ;
As with gladness men of old ;
Away in a manger ;
Away in a manger ;
Blessed be that maid Mary ;
The Blessed son of God ;
The Boar's head carol ;
Carol, with lullaby ;
Coventry Carol ;
Coventry Carol ;
Ding dong! merrily on high ;
The first nowell ;
Gallery carol ;
Gloucestershire wassail ;
God rest you merry, gentlemen ;
Good King Wenceslas ;
Hark! the herald angels sing ;
The holly and the ivy ;
I saw three ships ;
I saw three ships ;
In dulci jubilo ;
Infant holy, infant lowly ;
It came upon the midnight clear ;
King Jesus hath a garden ;
The linden tree carol ;
Lute-book lullaby ;
No sad thought his soul affright ;
O come, all ye faithful ;
O little one sweet ;
O little town of Bethlehem ;
O men from the fields ;
Once in royal David's city ;
Past three a clock ;
Rejoice and be merry ;
Rocking ;
See amid the winter's snow ;
The Shepherd's farewell ;
Sussex Carol ;
The three kings ;
Torches ;
Unto us is born a son ;
Up! good Christen folk, and listen ;
We've been a while a-wandering ;
What cheer? ;
When Christ was born ;
While shepherds watched their flocks ;
While the shepherds were watching ;
Zither Carol


Reginald Jacques was born in 1894 in Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire and studied at Queen's College, Oxford, where he later became organist and director of music in 1926.
Reginald Jacques was also conductor of the Oxford Orchestra Society from 1930 to 1936. From 1931 to 1960 he was conductor of The Bach Choir in London. In 1936 he founded his own Jacques Orchestra, which he conducted until 1960. In 1954 he was made Commander of the Order of the British Empire. He died in 1969.

John Rutter was born in London in 1945 and studied music at Clare College, Cambridge. His compositions embrace choral, orchestral, and instrumental music, and he has edited or co-edited various choral anthologies, including four Carols for Choirs volumes with Sir David Willcocks and the Oxford Choral Classics series. From 1975 to 1979 he was Director of Music at Clare College, and in 1981 he formed his own choir, the Cambridge Singers. He now divides his time between composition and conducting
and is sought after as a guest conductor for the world's leading choirs and orchestras.

Born in 1919, David Willcocks began his musical career as a chorister at Westminster Abbey, later winning scholarships to Clifton College and King's College, Cambridge. Following war service, he was elected Fellow of King's College, and later became Organist of Salisbury and Worcester Cathedrals, conducting the Three Choirs Festival whilst at Worcester.
Willcocks returned to King's College, Cambridge as Director of Music from 1957-1974, with the first collection of his arrangements in the Carols for Choirs series publishing in 1961. He was Director of Music at the Royal College of Music from 1974-1984, and was knighted in the Queen's Silver Jubilee Honours List in 1977. Willcocks also conducted The Bach Choir for 38 years, retiring in 1998.
Sir David died in September 2015.
EAN: 9780193532229
ISBN: 0193532220
Untertitel: Vocal Score. 'For Choirs Collections'. music. Sprache: Englisch.
Verlag: Oxford University Press
Erscheinungsdatum: August 1961
Seitenanzahl: 192 Seiten
Format: geheftet
Es gibt zu diesem Artikel noch keine Bewertungen.Kundenbewertung schreiben