A Handbook to Twentieth-Century Musical Sketches

€ 124,99
Bisher € 126,99
Lieferbar innert 2 Wochen
Juni 2014



This indispensable handbook explains how scholars and students should work with and think about the composer's working manuscripts.


Introduction Friedemann Sallis and Patricia Hall; 1. Sketches and sketching Giselher Schubert and Friedemann Sallis; 2. Preliminaries before visiting an archive Ulrich Mosch; 3. Archival etiquette Therese Muxeneder; 4. Coming to terms with the composer's working manuscripts Friedemann Sallis; 5. The classification of musical sketches exemplified in the catalogue of the Archivio Luigi Nono Erika Schaller; 6. Digital preservation of archival material William Koseluk; 7. Transcribing sketches Regina Busch; 8. A tale of two sketchbooks: reconstructing and deciphering Alban Berg's sketchbooks for Wozzeck Patricia Hall; 9. 'Written between the desk and the piano': dating Bela Bartok's sketches Laszlo Somfai; 10. Defining compositional process: idea and instrumentation in Igor Stravinsky's Ragtime (1918) and Pribaoutki (1915) Tomi Makela; 11. Floating hierarchies: organisation and composition in works by Pierre Boulez and Karlheinz Stockhausen during the 1950s Pascal Decroupet; 12. Elliot Carter's sketches: spiritual exercises and craftsmanship Denis Vermaelen; 13. E-Sketches: Brian Ferneyhough's use of computer assisted compositional tools Ross Feller; 14. John Cage's Williams Mix (1951-3): the restoration and new realizations of and variations on the first octophonic, surround-sound tape composition Larry Austin; Appendix. Select list of institutions housing manuscript collections of twentieth-century composers.


Patricia Hall is Associate Professor of Music Theory at the Department of Music, University of California, Santa Barbara. She is the author of A View of Berg's 'Lulu' through the Autograph Sources (1997). She has also contributed to several works including The Cambridge Companion to Alban Berg (1996) and has written articles and reviews for a number of journals. Friedemann Sallis is Professor titulaire at the Departement de musique, Universite de Moncton. He is the author of An Introduction to the Early Works of Gyorgy Ligeti (1996). He also contributed to Music of the Twentieth-Century Avant-Garde (L. Sitsky ed., 2002) and has published numerous articles on music of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

EAN: 9780521808606
ISBN: 052180860X
Untertitel: Sprache: Englisch.
Erscheinungsdatum: Juni 2014
Seitenanzahl: 254 Seiten
Format: gebunden
Es gibt zu diesem Artikel noch keine Bewertungen.Kundenbewertung schreiben